Idyltime and other news

by macksemil

Photo Credit : Benjamin Brayfield

Our shows last weekend were a huge success and a ton of fun. The Octoberfish event had a lot of people, barbequed tuna, hand pressed apple cider, and informative booths from South Slough National Estuarine Research Reserve and the Coos Watershed Association.

The show at Sharkbite’s Cafe was a lot more intimate as it was a smaller space. We were able to get away with just using vocal microphones and we were paid in full with delicious beer and food.

This weekend we will be playing at the Campbell Club in Eugene, OR for my friend/room mate Troy’s 21st birthday celebration. We will be following a mariachi band and preceeding karioke.

I’ve been working on the breadbox that I’m building for the Campbell Club. It is going well and I will post pictures when I’m finished. It is nice to be eating healthy meals that I don’t have to cook.

Right now I am reading King of Fish; The Thousand Year Run of Salmon by David R. Montgomery in order to learn more about and jog my memory of salmon issues in the Northwest. I am planning on starting to generate material for my zine next week.

I’ve been swimming laps at the YMCA which is very rewarding so far. Although, I didn’t go swimming on Monday because I was too tired from roller skating at the LGBTQA’s skate party at Skate World. Boy, that was a good time.

Last night I went to watch a lecture by Dahr Jamail about the BP Deep Water Horizon oil spill. Dahr Jamail is one of the few “unembedded” (meaning independent) journalists that has been covering both the Iraq war and the BP spill. If you are interested in this topic I suggest reading the article “Uncovering the Lies That Are Sinking The Oil” .

