Glasgow Gathering

by macksemil

Idyltime hosted the third annual Glasgow Gathering at the Glasgow grange this past weekend. There was music all day by local bands Hungry Mountain, Los Panchos, Coup d’Bop and of course a grand finale by Idyltime. The weekend was full of picking sessions with the many friends that arrived from all over the Northwest. Thanks to the Idyltime crew and all of the people who helped make this event happen. The event was a benifit for the Coos Historical and Maritime Museum, if you are in the Coos Bay area it is well worth the time to take a stroll around their museum.

I met some friendly folks that were taking an RV back to Eugene and were nice enough to give me a ride. We had a pleasant trip up the coast and I arrived in Eugene in time to make dinner and visit with a bunch of friends. We had a picture showing party. Clark, Grace and Aaron showed everyone pictures of their sailing adventures in the Sea of Cortez and I showed some pictures of my time in Alaska as a fisheries observer.

The next day I headed over to the Campbell Club and saw that Troy and Dods had built a sweet quarterpipe on the porch. Hell yes. I watched the basketball game at the Jackalope Lounge and then enjoyed a night of musical catastrophe with friends.

Tonight I am headed to Portland to see Hot Milk play at the Alberta Street Pub. They are playing with The Harmed Brothers who I have been meaning to see for a while now. I will try to actually take some pictures this time, I didn’t end up taking any from my weekend in Coos Bay and Eugene.

I’m going back to work in 5 days, so I am starting to think about packing and heading north to Seattle soon. A quick aside, if you are interested in photography and multimedia journalism you should check out my friend Benjamin Brayfield‘s website, he has some great video sections and photography posted.

